12v lighting


Postby trevor123 » Wed Feb 06, 2008 5:20 pm

hi, i have looked in the how to section but cant find what i am looking for so i thought id ask you guys. i have bought 6 35w 12v downlights complete with 6 50w transformers, i would like them all in 1 room operated by 1 switch, my question is, how do i get the live feed to all 6 transformers? do i use junction boxes, surely 7 terminals in a box is not good? the tranformers are already terminaled so all i have 2 do is connect them to the circuit? any help? advice greatly appreciated, trevor
________
Mazda L platform history
Last edited by trevor123 on Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
trevor123
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
15.4%
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:22 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sunningdale155 » Wed Feb 06, 2008 7:11 pm

Firstly do the main JB ( junction box )that contains the loop in/out mains and switch wire.

From this run a cable to the first spot a 4 terminal JB 20Amp are good because you can terminate the cables from below the ceiling as the JB will pass through the hole in the ceiling.

If your tranny has fixed leads to it then connect this into the JB as well. (if not I would still use JB's as getting 2 1.5mm cables into some trannies is a nightmare.) Therefore you will have 1 cable in 1 cable out to the next spot and a cable to the tranny.

Repeat this to all spots untill the last when you will have 1 cable in and 1 to the tranny.

You may require fire protection above the spots depending if there are rooms above. Fire hoods are avalible ( not many people fit them but the regs require them, Infact its a very grey area with conflicting reports from different companies)

Hope this helps, normally get that glazed look when trying to explain wiring to my customers.
sunningdale155
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:35 pm

Postby trevor123 » Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:06 am

thats great thanks, should of thought of that myself really! 1 more question, the transformers are pre wired but only with live and neutral cores no earth? it says they are double insulated so they dont need an earth, is this safe or should i earth to the fitting itself somehow? thanks in advance
________
weed vaporizers
Last edited by trevor123 on Fri Feb 04, 2011 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
trevor123
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
15.4%
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:22 pm

Postby ericmark » Thu Feb 07, 2008 9:15 am

Do not earth the fitting to add an earth to a SELV unit would be breaking the regulations
ericmark

Postby pyro_mania » Thu Feb 07, 2008 10:24 am

If it's double insulated then you don't need an earth.
pyro_mania
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
31.6%
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:50 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics