13am Electrical Socket - can I extend the wiring?


Postby mdemetri2 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:42 am

Hello All

I have been replacing my switches and sockets to nice metal ones, so far so good, except.....

On trying to change one of the double power sockets the L and N wires are the opposite way round (position wise) on the back of the new socket compared to the old white plastic one - which makes the Neutral wires not long enough when connected and trying to place the socket.

Is it ok for me to extend the black Neutral wires using a connector block - is this allowable?

Many thanks for the help in advance!!
mdemetri2
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:34 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby ericmark » Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:30 pm

Yes nice short answer for a change.
ericmark


Postby mdemetri2 » Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:55 am

Cool. Is there a particular rating that the chocolate block needs to be?

Cheers!!
mdemetri2
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:34 pm


Postby ericmark » Wed Aug 27, 2008 7:10 pm

May sound daft but don't know I always crimped the connection I will guess 20 amp.
ericmark


Postby mdemetri2 » Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:28 am

I dont have the tools to crimp the connection but would really appreciate someone letting me know what rate terminal block I need to use when extending the wiring to the plug socket.

Cheers
mdemetri2
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:34 pm


Postby BLAKEY1963 » Thu Aug 28, 2008 10:19 pm

[quote="mdemetri2"]I dont have the tools to crimp the connection but would really appreciate someone letting me know what rate terminal block I need to use when extending the wiring to the plug socket.

Cheers[/quote]


MDEMETN2

30 AMP CONNECTOR BLOCKS ,if part of the ring main
for sockets. 15 amp i would use for lighting.
Ideal as ERICMARK says , crimp if u could.

BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm


Postby mdemetri2 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:15 am

Ok I have tried to extend the Neutral wires, screwing the original cables into a 30 connector block (one for each wire) then used the some blue neutral wires to connect to the other end of the block - again one for each cable - then connected these to plug socket.

However, the fuse box keeps tripping for some reason. When I take the cables out of the socket everything is fine.

Any suggestions as to why?
mdemetri2
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:34 pm


Postby BLAKEY1963 » Mon Sep 01, 2008 4:26 pm

[quote="mdemetri2"]Ok I have tried to extend the Neutral wires, screwing the original cables into a 30 connector block (one for each wire) then used the some blue neutral wires to connect to the other end of the block - again one for each cable - then connected these to plug socket.

However, the fuse box keeps tripping for some reason. When I take the cables out of the socket everything is fine.

Any suggestions as to why?[/quote]

MDEMENTRI
when the socket plate is screwed home into the metal
or plastic housing ( whichever u have ) , then the terminal
block is compressed.
IF the metal of the terminal block )
is touching , any of the other conductors ( live , EARTH
or neutral )
THEN a fault will arise.
ISOLATE MAINS POWER , make sure it is off and
look for signs of compression and fault on the block
tape up with insulation tape and refit moving the block
to give it more room in the space availeble behind the
face plate.

BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics