Advice needed on quote
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

tonyade
Apprentice
Apprentice

Advice needed on quote

by tonyade » Thu May 29, 2008 11:36 am

Hello guys. Just had a quote for a new Worcester Bosch combi boiler and some pipe work. Now, I know it's hard for you to comment without seeing the jobs yourselves, but I was just wondering if anyone could tell me whether these figures are a bit over the top, or standard for this type of job. (Should also mention that the plumbers are Corgi registered too).

1. Supply and install Worcester Bosch combi boiler (14 litres a minute model. 30 tsi, I think. They'll have to remove immersion): £1,720

2. Install power flush (they are quite insistent that we get this, pipes are quite old): £500

3. Repair leak on cold water stopcock: £100

4. Replace waste pie (it's quite old): £280

5. Four new rad valves (I'm a complete novice, so would probably muck this up if I did it myself): £40 per rad.

I should mention that I live in a small block of flats (ex-local authority) and that I currently have an old boiler that is not long for this world.

Thanks in advance!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mac-the-Wrench
Apprentice
Apprentice

by Mac-the-Wrench » Thu May 29, 2008 2:04 pm

Are you supplying the parts and materials, or are they?

Or is this just the labour costs?

tonyade
Apprentice
Apprentice

by tonyade » Thu May 29, 2008 2:14 pm

They are supplying parts and materials, thankfully.

tonyade
Apprentice
Apprentice

by tonyade » Thu May 29, 2008 2:26 pm

It's parts and materials, thankfully.

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager

by rosebery » Thu May 29, 2008 2:30 pm

1. Doesn't seem unreasonable.

2. Powerflush can do more damage than it cures if the system is that old. Danger of the muck it flushes out is actually blocking up potential leaks which are no longer blocked after flushing.

3. Seems far too high a figure if done coincidentally with the other work.