bathroom refit
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
newdanuser
Labourer
Labourer

bathroom refit

by newdanuser » Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:14 pm

hi i am new to this so please be kind, i have just had a bathroom refit the fitters moved the shower about two foot to the left, instead of using a new piece of shower cable they used a small length of new cable joined onto the old cable,connected i dont know and tiled over it i dont know if they used any protection on the cable or wether all this is ok so can someone help and tell me if this is ok practice

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager

by kbrownie » Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:52 am

There are methods of joining and extending cables, if the cables are burried and unaccessible they should have been either replaced for a new one piece length or a perment joint made not a connection block or junction box.
Unless your are wanting to remove the tiles or you have an honest fitter you can not be sure which method was used.
He should be part p registered or the work carried notified to Building Controls.

newdanuser
Labourer
Labourer

by newdanuser » Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:19 pm

hi kbrownie thank you for your reply,i am trying to get a definite anwser to the part about been part p is it law or just a recommendation because i believe because it was extended it should be law that they are a elctrician or competent person,i have asked building control to be present when the electrician replaces cable that is what is going to happen i hope,building control dont seem to know wether they should be part p but say the work didnt need to be notified,i have asked for this to be checked as it was not a straight forward like for like refit,but i am having to keep pushing them to look into it because at hte end of the day if they have done illegal work i want them prosecuted,once again thank you any more help would be grateful

Dusklights.co.uk
Labourer
Labourer