BI tells me to install mains smoke detectors

Postby LAB » Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:19 pm

nearing the end of an extension, BI called today to check roof insulation etc, he informed me that a mains smoke detector should be installed in main house, top of stairs and ground floor hallway, this is a permited development with no detaild plans, allthouge it is a good thought safety wise there are Four smoke detectors, (Battery) allready in the property, becouse there was no connection with the house itself, (the building notice was for the extension) is this out of his scope?, or could he walk through the house next time and say something like "Your windows are not up to regs., get them changed"
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2012 4:32 pm


Simply Build It

Postby welsh brickie » Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:00 am

With new fire regulations all properties being contructed have to have mains installed smoke detectors,this also includes properties being rewired and your extension comes under that catagory.
welsh brickie
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2198
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 7:54 am

Postby Dave From Leeds » Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:01 pm

When we had a loft conversion done abiut four years ago, we had to have linked mains smoke detectors installed, one on each of the three floors in the house, despite the fact that we already had battery operated ones on the ground and first floors.
Dave From Leeds
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 179
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 9:02 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by

  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!


  • Related Topics