Boiler service price


Postby Speck1965 » Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:45 pm

Been quoted £80.00 for a basic boiler service.
Is this a reasonable price?

Carl
Speck1965
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 3:09 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby Steve the gas » Mon Feb 23, 2009 5:57 am

Hi,

A little high for the midlands, but if in London for example prolly going rate.I would say £50 ish for a wall/floor mounted,£70 for a BBU.


Hth
Steve the gas
Posts: 780
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 7:07 am


Postby tsb » Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:30 pm

Can anyone tell me what a "basic" service is, compared to a good or full one
tsb
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:15 pm


Postby htg engineer » Thu Feb 26, 2009 5:25 pm

If anyone offers different levels of servicing - they're a cowboy outfit - tell them where to get off. Unless it includes adding/checking inhibitors etc etc.

A service is a service and is required to ensure the safety and prolong the life of gas appliances. It should include the cleaning and inspection of parts and inspection of flue, flow tests and spillage tests - replacement of gaskets, flue gas analysis (where necessary) simple as that.


htg
htg engineer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:22 pm


Postby go-repairs » Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:24 pm

You need to supply more info like what area you live (obviously cost changes around the country). And you should ask what a basic service is? I have never of different levels of service but maybe they are trying to sell you some useless extras.

Also the cost can/will go up depending on how many gas appliances they service.
go-repairs
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:13 pm


Postby Brian » Tue Mar 31, 2009 8:08 am

Just paid £52 for ours. Same chap has done it for years. Reliable and strips and cleans everything, refits and meters and checks all joints /flue etc. East Midlands area if any help to you.
Cheers

Brian
Brian
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 9:38 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics