cabling through wall insulation


Postby russellfl » Fri Dec 04, 2009 11:34 am

Hi, i have taken out one side of my stud wall to put in sound insulation, i'm using some left over loft insulation for the job. A friend of mine (not a spark) told me I have to put in some form of conduit around a power cable that runs in the wall to keep it separate from the insulation. Is this correct?
If it is what worries me is my roof void is like a spiders web of cables all sitting on top and running through the roof insulation.

Cheers
russellfl
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:53 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Fri Dec 04, 2009 6:49 pm

Hi, in an ideal world the cables would never touch insulation materials....
but in the real world it is almost impossible to do.
since most domestic cables rarely carry thair max design current short runs touching/enclosed in insulation will make little difference, so if you can leave a gap in the insulation it would help but don't worry too much.
When I wire in roof voids I clip on purlins above ceilings but still have to drop down through insulation,
regards Sparx
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby russellfl » Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:43 pm

Thanks Sparx, you've put my mind at ease. I've noted what you said and will seperate cables from insulation wherever I can.

thanks again
russellfl
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:53 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics

cron