Can I burn wood in chimney flue?


Postby Roclive » Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:50 pm

Some 15 years ago we had a flue inserted in our old coal fire chimney, as it was deemed too costly to re-point the brickwork due to its age (18th century).
We were told at the time not to burn wood, only coal, but it that an exact science, or is it ok to use wood as a fuel (it's a lot cheaper!)?
Any advice much appreciated.
Roclive
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:36 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby stoneyboy » Wed Dec 10, 2008 7:10 pm

Roclive,
Are you using a stove or is it and open fire?
end
stoneyboy
Posts: 2708
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm


Postby Roclive » Thu Dec 11, 2008 9:26 am

Just as an open coal fire - no back boiler or anything. It's on the first floor of a three storey building.
Roclive
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 1:36 pm


Postby stoneyboy » Thu Dec 11, 2008 4:07 pm

Roclive,
If you wished to comply with current BRegs the flue liner would need to be 200mm diameter for an open fire. If you are going to burn wood the fire will need a lot more air therefore a larger flue.
Assuming the lining material is SS I suggest you try burning wood and if the flue is not big enough the fire will fill the room with smoke. If you are going to burn wood regularly the flue will need sweeping 2x a year.
end
stoneyboy
Posts: 2708
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm


Postby htg engineer » Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:11 am

Also check you're not living in a smokeless zone - otherwise you may receive a hefty fine.

htg
htg engineer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:22 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics