Can I Wire a Wall Mounted TV to a Light Fitting to Power it?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Oxmanc
Labourer
Labourer

Can I Wire a Wall Mounted TV to a Light Fitting to Power it?

by Oxmanc » Fri Apr 10, 2015 6:51 am

Good Morning Folks,

I'm hoping this is not an entirely silly question, but I'm fairly new to DIY and have little knowledge regarding wiring.

My little girl is on the verge of toddling and has started taking an interest in the various cables around the television, so my plan is to put the TV up on the wall and get the cables out of the way. It's an old house with thick internal brick walls, and the wall I'd like to mount the TV on has a utility room on the other side. There is a light on the wall in the front room, and the wiring to it comes via a hole drilled though the wall which I can access from the other side. It has all 3 wires you would see at the back of a conventional plug socket.

Would it be dangerous to removed the light and use the cable to power the television?

Many thanks.

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Can I Wire a Wall Mounted TV to a Light Fitting to Power it?

by ericmark » Fri Apr 10, 2015 12:35 pm

Wish I could simply say yes or no but not as easy as that.
1) Many pre-1960 houses have no earth to lights and need re-wiring if yours is one of these then it's a non starter.
2) The idea of separate circuits is that should something go wrong with TV it would not fuse the lights there has to be some consideration of over load as well.
3) Lighting circuits are normally just 5 or 6 amp where power circuits are between 16 and 32 amp it depends on the load already on the circuit and in theroy you should not fit a 13A socket to a lighting circuit because something else may get plugged in.