Ceiling pull cord light switch


Postby clanpipe » Tue Nov 17, 2009 2:26 pm

I have to renew the cord at the switch, the cord goes into a black 'box'inside the fitting and is secured by two screws. Does this mean I have to renew the whole switch or can I unscrew the 'box' to renew the cord?
clanpipe
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:51 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby BLAKEY1963 » Tue Nov 17, 2009 7:40 pm

CLANPIPE
Isolate mains power , note where wires go and replace
wiv new pullcord switch

BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm


Postby clanpipe » Wed Nov 18, 2009 1:34 pm

Thanks Bakey, it does seem idiotic tha tthe whole swirtch has to be replaced but will persevere.
clanpipe
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 1:51 pm


Postby sparx » Wed Nov 18, 2009 2:20 pm

replace switch, if you attempt to open it you will have springs and bits of copper/brass every where,
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby moggy1968 » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:53 pm

they.re not expensive and trying to dismantle one just isn't worth the hassle
moggy1968
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am


Postby acsimpson » Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:19 am

Alternatilvely tie the new string on as close to the top of the old one as feasible, then cut the old one off.
acsimpson
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:33 pm


Postby moggy1968 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:56 am

[quote="sparx"]replace switch, if you attempt to open it you will have springs and bits of copper/brass every where,[/quote]
Sparx,
is that the voice of experience there :wink:
moggy1968
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am


Postby sparx » Fri Nov 20, 2009 8:29 pm

Moggy, yup too right!

curiousity may have killed the cat but it gave me a face full of bits....

regards Sparx.
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics