Central Heating Feeder Tank Overflow
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
NormanNovice
Labourer
Labourer

Central Heating Feeder Tank Overflow

by NormanNovice » Sun Oct 07, 2007 7:36 pm

Hi,

I've recently moved home and have the following problem;

I have an old Gas Fired Central Heating system and have a constant overflow from the C/H Feeder tank

The water coming out is a rusty colour and usually hot.

It appears to be coming back up the feed pipe and not the vent pipe and then obviously flowing out the overflow pipe.

I've traced the feed pipe and it goes into the bottom of the hot water tank and the top of the boiler downstairs.

The amount of water pouring out increases dramatically when the C/h system is turned on and the pump is going. When it's off there's a constant flow

I'm no expert, but was wandering does it have anything to do with the position of the pump, or has a value gone somewhere in the system?

I'd be grateful of any advice as I've got the Mrs nagging and the weather has started to get colder.

Thanks

The Heating Doctor
Foreman
Foreman

by The Heating Doctor » Wed Oct 10, 2007 12:54 am

I think from what you are saying that the pump is in the wrong position. The pump should be after the open vent. I would get a htg engineer in to sort this out and when it is have your system flushed clean and when filled again a good brand inhibiter added as the system will have had a lot of air added to it due to your problem, hence the dirty brown colour of the water you are seeing discharged. As you have just recently moved in, could be worth talking to your solicitor as this must have been a problem for the previous owner who has not disclosed the fact.

NormanNovice
Labourer
Labourer

by NormanNovice » Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:35 pm

Thanks Heating Doctor

I’ve read my DIY books and it doesn’t appear too difficult to move the pump???