Certification of Electrical Work - Does the Electrician Have to do the Work?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Lima7
Apprentice
Apprentice

Certification of Electrical Work - Does the Electrician Have to do the Work?

by Lima7 » Sun Dec 07, 2014 3:26 pm

Hi,

I have a couple of questions about certifying work done on home wiring.

I want to do some work on a ring main, I understand that building regs require this work to be certified by an electrician. Does the electrician have have to actually DO the work, or can I do the work myself and ask him to certify it for me? (for a fee obviously!)

Secondly, exactly what qualifications are needed to certify home wiring? I did a degree in Electrical Engineering 20 years ago, and started my career designing power plants, so I'm aware of the basic principles! I wired several houses back in the good-old days when it was ok to do so (and had them checked out by an inspector just for my own satisfaction) but now it seems I can't do this anymore. Can I just study the building regs and sit an exam? or is there more to it than this?

Thanks

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Certification of Electrical Work - Does the Electrician Have to do the Work?

by ericmark » Mon Dec 08, 2014 2:57 am