Changing a Junction Box to Consumer Control Unit


Postby spikespike » Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:07 am

I live in a flat the consumer unit is housed in communual basement with wires running into a junction box inside the flat. can I change the junction box to consumer unit using the two incoming live feeds?
spikespike
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:58 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby ericmark » Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:30 pm

This is interesting when is a consumer unit not a consumer unit? To change a consumer unit is covered by part p but here is the definition: Consumer unit (may also be known as a consumer control unit or electricity control unit). A particular type of distribution board comprising a type-tested co-ordinated assembly for the control and distribution of electrical energy, principally in domestic premises, incorporating manual means of double-pole isolation on the incoming circuit(s) and an assembly of one or more fuses, circuit-breakers, residual current operated devices or signalling and other devices proven during the type-test of the assembly as suitable for such use.
Reading this I think it will be regarded as a consumer unit? But depends how you install it. If for example you buy the box only and have MCB's or RCBO's slightly smaller than the ones in the consumer unit down-stairs then it would be like a FCU "fused connection" unit not a consumer unit. You say two feeds so I assume one for lights and the other sockets so a garage unit would be ample. Although you may be able to do it I wonder why and what your skill level is? There is no point of 6 amp down-stairs and same up-stairs you would need next lower and there are preferred sizes so looking at 4 and 25 to connect to 6 and 32 would this be of benefit unless there was some splitting of circuits of course. You can not connect both feeds together as this would be unequal parallel conductors. So please say why you want to do this?
ericmark


Postby spikespike » Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:55 pm

That sounds very helpfull, the reason I want to do it is really because the entrance to the communual basement is quite a hike round an large old block of flats and if its late at night and raining when the electricity trips it's a bit of a pain.
spikespike
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:58 am


Postby spikespike » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:01 pm

[quote="ericmark"]This is interesting when is a consumer unit not a consumer unit? To change a consumer unit is covered by part p but here is the definition: Consumer unit (may also be known as a consumer control unit or electricity control unit). A particular type of distribution board comprising a type-tested co-ordinated assembly for the control and distribution of electrical energy, principally in domestic premises, incorporating manual means of double-pole isolation on the incoming circuit(s) and an assembly of one or more fuses, circuit-breakers, residual current operated devices or signalling and other devices proven during the type-test of the assembly as suitable for such use.
Reading this I think it will be regarded as a consumer unit? But depends how you install it. If for example you buy the box only and have MCB's or RCBO's slightly smaller than the ones in the consumer unit down-stairs then it would be like a FCU "fused connection" unit not a consumer unit. You say two feeds so I assume one for lights and the other sockets so a garage unit would be ample. Although you may be able to do it I wonder why and what your skill level is? There is no point of 6 amp down-stairs and same up-stairs you would need next lower and there are preferred sizes so looking at 4 and 25 to connect to 6 and 32 would this be of benefit unless there was some splitting of circuits of course. You can not connect both feeds together as this would be unequal parallel conductors. So please say why you want to do this?[/quote]

I want to do it because the entrance to the communual basement is a 5 minute hike around an old block of flats and if it's late at night and raining or snowing it's a bit of a pain perhaps I should mention that while im a brit I am currently living in Oslo Norway. If it trips I might have to wade through 3-5 feet of snow also there is no ringmain everything feed straight from the consumer unit I an also currently installing underfloor electric heating in the bathroom and need and extra feed anyway.

Hope you may have some more helpfull advise/
spikespike
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:58 am


Postby ericmark » Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:21 am

Well although our regulations are suppose to be harmonised we are not close enough to give you advise on what you can do. Sorry this sight is based on UK systems.
ericmark


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics