Changing MCB in consumer unit.


Postby Unclebill » Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:05 pm

I've had a look and a search so I'll just ask and see what happens. One of the MCB's in my consumer unit appears to have failed. I have no intention of touching it personally but just as a matter of interest how does one get the old one out and fit the new one?
It looks as though it should just unplug and lift out but it seems to be totally immoveable. I'd love to know how its done.
Unclebill
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:00 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Wed Jun 27, 2007 9:03 am

Hi purely for interest! almost all con. units have plastic cover over live buss-bar along bottom of MCBs with label saying sw. off b4 removing! under which are the screw terminals holding the live connection to each MCB, by undoing the screw the MCB is then lifted up & out from its top mount on DIN rail. some makes cant be done this way as entire buss-bar has to be undone to remove even oneMCregards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby Unclebill » Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:58 pm

[quote="sparx"]Hi purely for interest! almost all con. units have plastic cover over live buss-bar along bottom of MCBs with label saying sw. off b4 removing! under which are the screw terminals holding the live connection to each MCB, by undoing the screw the MCB is then lifted up & out from its top mount on DIN rail. some makes cant be done this way as entire buss-bar has to be undone to remove even oneMCregards SPARX[/quote]

Honest it is just 'as a matter of interest'. The design of the box makes it look as though they should just pull out easily!! just like the old fuse blocks did. No way will I get anywhere near live electricity!
Thanks for the info Sparx.
Unclebill
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:00 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics