concrete over and around concrete

Postby learner » Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:25 pm

I am demolishing an old shed and having a new one built (9mx6m). The new building is larger than the old one and I therefore need to make the existing concrete base bigger. I also want to raise the level of the new base slightly as well as increasing the overall area so there will be new concrete on top of the old slab as well as at the side of it. Are there any special considerations for doing this? I was going to dig out the new perimeter, add compacted aggregate and then pour to the new level of the that ok? Will it bond ok? Thanks for any advice.

Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:05 pm


Simply Build It

Postby grooverider991 » Tue Apr 01, 2008 6:10 pm

ok,what your doing is ok but cover the area with reinforcing mesh then concrete over the entire area,this will bind it all together.Make sure you suspend the mesh to allow concrete to flow around it,half an inch will be ok.Hope this helps
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:33 pm

Postby TheDoctor4 » Mon Jul 26, 2010 7:45 pm

For up to 5 FREE quotes from trusted, vetted and insured tradesmen in your area visit the DIY Doctor Find a Tradesman page:
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 16777214
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 9:12 am
Location: Somerset in the UK in Shepton mallet

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by

  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!


  • Related Topics