Confusing Electrical Wiring Where all Sockets in Room Have Stopped Working
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
jasperwells
Labourer
Labourer

Confusing Electrical Wiring Where all Sockets in Room Have Stopped Working

by jasperwells » Mon May 23, 2016 10:07 pm

Hello,

I'm a novice with electrics but can get my head around most of the basics. I have an entire rooms worth of sockets not working and I believe it is due to an incorrectly wired 2 socket plate in the room directly above that connects that ring.

socket.jpg

The picture shows how the socket is currently wired. I need to know how to correctly link up the above to make the downstairs room sockets work?

I've looked elsewhere online for which new colours should join to which old colours but i'm confused that the blue neutral cable isn't attached and yet the socket still works, does this mean the cable colours have become mixed up?

Please help!

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Confusing Electrical Wiring Where all Sockets in Room Have Stopped Working

by ericmark » Wed May 25, 2016 11:16 am

Red to Brown connect to L which stands for line.
Black to Blue connect to N which stands for Neutral.
Green, Green/Yellow, or bare together on the E terminal stand for Earth.

However there is still likely a fault even if it starts working again. In the UK we use a ring final system in the main, this allows use to use thin cable 2.5mm sq to supply many sockets from a 30A fuse or 32A MCB, the whole idea is the sockets share the double supply. Testing every 10 years (3 in Scottish rented property where it is now law, but not law in rest of UK) what was called a PIR (periodic inspection report) now called an EICR (electrical installation condition report) or change of occupant, ensures that if the ring is broken then this is found, other wise overloading of the cable can happen and cable damage result.