Consumer units


Postby jmdnnlln » Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:11 am

Hello,
I am fitting a consumer unit into my shed/workshop. I am wanting to run an armoured cable from my conservatory, which is already wired from a spur and approx 15mtr's away.
Also I notice that a ring main is wired back to the consumer unit, is it fed INTO the same RCD within the unit?
jmdnnlln
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:05 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby ericmark » Tue Jun 01, 2010 12:25 pm

If wiring from a fused connection unit then you are already limited to 13A personally I would use a RCD FCU in the house. So no need for any further protection for sockets. To power the lights I would use a switched fuse connection unit with 3A fuse and no real need for a consumer unit at all.
ericmark
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1796
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Mold, North Wales.

Postby jmdnnlln » Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:43 am

Thanx ericmark
jmdnnlln
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 10:05 am

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics