copper or poly pipe?
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
jayjay2007
Labourer
Labourer

copper or poly pipe?

by jayjay2007 » Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:53 pm

Hi,

I'm having a central heating (megaflo) system installed into my house which is currently being refurbished.

The Corgi engineer wants to use Polybutylene pipe (with copper pipes for any exposed pipework to radiators etc.) What are people's opinions on this?

I know that copper is expensive at the moment so that is probably the main reason (as the house is being gutted ease of access shouldn't be an issue.) I know that it's no longer used in America following several lawsuits, but that it's commonly used here. Should I insist on copper pipes being used?

Thanks for your help,
Jason

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager

by htg engineer » Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:26 pm

As a time served plumber I always use copper pipe and capillary fittings - I have never used plastic pipe, pushfit fittings etc.

There's a few reasons for this:

firstly I trust soldered fittings and copper pipe, I wouldn't trust plastic pipe and pushfit fittings, have heard of and seen the damage where they have came apart.

Neatness, I like to leave a job that is pleasing to the eye, copper pipe and soldered fittings, not bulky compression fittings, or pushfit fittings.

The main reason though is - using plastic pipe and pushfit fittings is not a plumbers job. It's a DIY quick fix option.

I don't think the price of copper has anything to do with the installer wanting to use plastic pipe, probably the ease and quickness - get the job done - get the money.

It might just be me, and oneday I might use this type of pipe etc
But could it be the beginning - to the end of tradesmen (plumbers) ?

marrtin
Foreman
Foreman

by marrtin » Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:41 pm