crack monitoring


Postby showally » Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:57 pm

Can you tell me whether a crack monitor can be fixed onto a rendered wall or should this be removed first and then attach the monitor to the brick and blockwork
showally
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:46 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby Monkperson » Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:34 pm

The best way to fix a 'tell-tale'or indicator across a crack in my experience is with a two part epoxy directly to the bricks and that would require the removal of at least a small area of the render.

Remember its the movement of the bricks you are interested in, and the render would simply rip off if there was any movement in them and the telltale was affixed to the render.

If its cracked the render will need to be repaired/patched anyway,right? Just remove a minimal amount, clean the bricks very well and glue the telltale(s) in place.
Monkperson
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 10:22 pm


Postby showally » Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:12 pm

Thanks, we have had monitoring done over the last few months but none of it on bare brickwork and now they are wondering why when the plaster inside and rendering outside is removed, the cracks are so large. Thankyou for your help!!!
showally
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:46 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics