door lining/casing
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
neckandears
Labourer
Labourer

door lining/casing

by neckandears » Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:10 pm

hi can somebody please explain the difference between a door lining and a door casing thanks :?

richvhurst
Labourer
Labourer

by richvhurst » Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:17 pm

I'm no expert but I think the door lining is the frame of the door that the hinge attaches to and is shaped to stop the door flush to the frame. A door casing is the decorative architrave that surrounds the door - at least that's what wikipedia said anyway. Hope this helps.

richvhurst
Labourer
Labourer

by richvhurst » Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:21 pm

p.s. if you could comment on my chisel post, I would be most grateful. Thanks :)

bazl30
Labourer
Labourer

by bazl30 » Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:48 pm

to me i'd say they are the same thing.....they are just alternative terms for a door frame.

chris_on_tour2002
Project Manager
Project Manager

by chris_on_tour2002 » Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:47 am

in this country the terms door lining and door casing are really quite interchangeable. go to jewson's you will buy a door lining. the same thing in wickes and it's a door casing.

and strictly speaking the term the 'door frame' actually refers to the structural timber opening in studwork/brickwork that accepts the door lining/casing.

there is similar confusion as to what constitutes a door frame, door lining and door jamb! these days all seem to be quite interchangeable. even professional chippies and joiners don't seem to be able to agree on which is which!

in the US the door casing is the architrave which is perhaps the reason for the abiguity.

oakie
Apprentice
Apprentice

by oakie » Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:22 pm