Electrical Inspection and Test
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

10 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
CH
Labourer
Labourer

Post by CH » Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:29 am

I am about to start wiring my new utility room extension, ring main, lights etc. I am a qualified electrician but have no inspection or test certs. The last regs course I did was 15th edition. The building inspector will inspect the first fix for Part P, but says I will have to have the final installation inspected and tested to pass building control.
Can anybody explain this procedure, what forms have to be filled in? how much of the work can I do? etc.

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:02 pm

I would expect you can do all the work yourself.
1. Follow links in Projects to Part P and down load the form once you read it yourself I am sure you will agree not really a problem biggest problem is to get hold of a earth loop impedance tester with traceable records.
2. If you go to IEE or now called IET web site you can down load the forms which when printed do not have On Line Version written all over them.
Once you have read the Part P form come back and ask more. There are some changes 15 to 17th edition but not so many as it should cause a problem. Main thing is RCD protection on nearly all. But I can't really see a problem.

CH
Labourer
Labourer

Post by CH » Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:33 am

Thanks for the quick reply, I have downloaded the part P docs. but not read them yet. One question, if I extend the ground floor ring main in to my utility extension will I have to bring the circuit protection up to the current standard? At the moment it is on re-wireable fuses.

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:36 pm