FCUs only on Spurs?


Postby misterg » Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:35 pm

Hi

Can an FCU be part of the main ring? Or does it half to be a spur?

If an FCU with a switch is more or less a socket and plug combined hopefully it's possible.

I'm thinking ahead in case I need two FCUs for the bathroom off a socket in the bedroom. One for a shower pump and one for a heated towel rail. The FCUs would be inside a built in wardrobe in the bedroom.

I'm planning to put in the FCU now as I am decorating the bedroom, but will get an electrician to do the work in the bathroom itself.

Cheers

Mister G
misterg
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
96.2%
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:58 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Sat Jun 30, 2007 4:25 pm

Hi misterg,
FCU's should be on ring & can only supply 1 item of 'fixed equipment' each.
in your case either taking off from existing skt or from 30A J-box I would put a FCU at begining of spur run then you can put several FCU's on one cable run (ie in cupboard) as total load on spur can only be 13A max.
BTW if your ring not rcd protected then put RCD FCU as first one, then all others protected ( fit next to socket you are spurring from best way), regards SPARX
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Postby misterg » Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:53 pm

Hi Sparx

Thanks for the reply, just to make sure I understand.

This is the circuit now, S1 and S2 are sockets.

``````S1``````````````````S2
`````▄▄`````````````````▄▄
───┘└──────────┘└─────

I wanted it to look like this, where F1 is an FCU:

``````S1````````F1`````````S2
`````▄▄````````□````````▄▄
───┘└────┘└────┘└────

And from your explanation, it should look like this?

With F1 an FCU with RCD and F2 another FCU?

````````````````F2``````````
````````````````□```````````
`````````````F1``|```````````
``````S1`````□─┘```````S2
`````▄▄───┘``````````▄▄
───┘└──────────┘└──

I was just going to put an RCD in the consumer unit for the upstairs ring, as I have to get a new CU anyway, would that be just as good as an FCU with an RCD? Looks like I may need a dual dry lining box.

Cheers

G
misterg
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
96.2%
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:58 pm

Postby sparx » Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:33 pm

Hi mrG , take it you mean to fit RCBO in place of MCB good idea if you can then just FCU's as described but without rcd type
changing anything in con.unit Part P of course. regards
SPARX
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Postby misterg » Wed Jul 04, 2007 1:05 am

Thanks again Sparx

I'm getting a new consumer unit, so will specify RCDs to the electrician for the top floor.

Cheers

G
misterg
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
96.2%
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 8:58 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics