Fitting new Direct mains system?
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
jack_of_all
Apprentice
Apprentice

Fitting new Direct mains system?

by jack_of_all » Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:57 pm

I am completely renovating my 1860 2-bed cottage and adding a kitchen extension and conservatory at the side of the house plus a new ground floor bedroom/study extension to the rear. I have my new roof and ceiling rafters fitted but am worried that the upgraded rafters may still not be rigid enough to carry the weight of the cold water storage tank. I dislike the idea of fitting a combi boiler but have noted your info on the Direct mains pressure system which also dispenses with the cold water loft tank. What regulations do I have to take note of when installing a mains pressure system and is there any advice you can give to enable a decision to be made. I intend to do as much of the work myself for financial reasons - I'm a retired electrician.

stephen.s
Apprentice
Apprentice

by stephen.s » Mon Mar 19, 2007 10:35 pm

Water regs and possibl building regs, depending what route you choose.

If you are completely re-doing the whole property and plumbing works, have you considered an un-vented cylinder? This is mains fed and mains supply to the taps but also gives a balanced hot and cold water pressure throughout the property of approx 3 bar to 5 bar dependant on manufacturer. although saying that, you do need to hold an unvented certificate (building regs part G3) to install but if you are good friends with any plumbers, they may be able to work out a "mates-rates" for you. you could do all of the plumbing etc yourself, just not install and/or commission the cylinder.