Garage Light


Postby Jasper » Sun Oct 12, 2008 12:37 pm

I have an existing light in my garage (a strip light) I wish to add another strip light at the the other end of the garage and wire into the exisiting feed and switch for the existing light

The light has a switch and also appears to be part of the the downstairs lighting circuit.

Do i have to take the live feed to the light and pop it into a junction box and then take a feed to the new light? My idea is there is to use a 4 way box, with a feed for the live, the switch and the new light, so to get it right in my head, just one new cable to the new light right??

TIA for any help!

J
Jasper
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:39 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:09 pm

why not just loop from first light to new one? one twin& earth 1.5mm cable!
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Postby Jasper » Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:57 pm

So simply one cable from the existing light to the new one?
Jasper
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:39 am

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics