Garage wiring


Postby chewyjoint » Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:45 am

Hi

I'm going to wire up a new detached garage and I have a couple of questions;

I'm going to use a garage consumer unit with built in RCD. Can I use 2.5 mm cable to wire from the main consumer unit in the house to the garage or do I need to use thicker cable?

Do I need to enclose any of the wires in the garage in conduit or can I clip them directly to the wall / rafters?

Many thanks for any help!
chewyjoint
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 5:40 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby brace67 » Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:43 am

u must use armoured cable and has to be sunken into ground on a bed of sand with cable warning sheet over
brace67
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 3:14 pm


Postby sparx » Mon Sep 03, 2007 7:18 pm

Hi, In addition to previous answer from 'Brace67' it could be run as an overhead instead, either way it depends on lenght of run from con.unit to garage, predicted load on skts. etc. I am sure your Part P registered leckie will know the answer as this is not DIY legal work!
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics