gas fire install


Postby umerjm10 » Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:43 pm

i would like to fit a gas fire on a wall in my living room.no chimny,gas pipe is already there,the wall is a garage at the back with doors on both sides,will it be ok to have the flu pipe in the garage?
umerjm10
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:23 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby htg engineer » Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:44 pm

NO.

Why is there a gas pipe there already ? what type of fire was already installed ?

The only option you have (which I don't rate and wouldn't have one myself) is to fit a flueless gas fire. But personally i'd rather have an electric one.


htg
htg engineer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:22 pm


Postby umerjm10 » Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:52 am

thankx 4 reply-by the way there was a flueless gas fire plasma style on the wall which was only 2kw.took too long for the room 2 heat up.its stop working & i really dont want another kind.ivgot a 3.5kw gas fire,im wondering will it b ok to run the 6"flexible flue pipe out from d rear of the fire & along the garage wall about 3 mtrs long & straight out...any suggestians!
umerjm10
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:23 pm


Postby htg engineer » Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:05 pm

NO, they are meant to go straight through an external wall. That length of flue for a balanced flue appliance will never work (unless vertical).

Your options are -
1) fit a flueless fire
2) fit an electric heater/fire effect.
3) Just stick with the central heating/radiators.

htg
htg engineer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:22 pm


Postby umerjm10 » Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:34 pm

why cant i put the flue pipe outside,im sure the fumes will travell through,
how about fixing the end of the flue to a fan which pulls the fumes out!
umerjm10
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:23 pm


Postby Steve the gas » Mon Dec 08, 2008 5:55 am

Hi,

If you were competant - you would not be asking these questions (no offence meant). You need an RGI for this - ask a local one - he will say no.
The appliance will not be compatible for this flue configuration.


Steve
Steve the gas
Posts: 780
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 7:07 am


Postby AdamsHeating » Mon Dec 08, 2008 8:27 pm

There is only one way to have a gas fire fitted in that space you are describing and it will involve a flue box, a ridgid double walled vertical flue, and a fake chimney breast construction and plastering.

Now if you look at that little exercise, it involves a Gas Man, a joiner and a builder, a plasterer and probably a few labourers, i.e. Lots of cost to you. (note the Gas Man has capital letters as he is the most important... ;-))

Just go with an electric and save yourself the hassle. The newer ones come with a nice surround and they can be picked up from the local DIY store at a decent price.

Don't mean to sound rude, but if being CORGI registered was that simple, everyone would have it. I suggest you trust the professionals on this one.

AH.
AdamsHeating
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:49 am


Postby umerjm10 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 6:37 pm

problem solved guys-went to a gas fire specialist shop with the gas fire -he sold me a 2 mtr flue with a fan box,got a corgi to install it & its 100% wicked-all the fumes go out the flue & out via fan .so the nx time somone like me asks the same question tell em to get a fan assisted gas fire...
umerjm10
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:23 pm


Postby htg engineer » Sat Dec 13, 2008 10:14 am

What's the make and model of fire ?

Does tha manufacturers instructions state the fire is suitable for this type of installation ?

Is the RGI a magician too ? you said you wanted to use 3 mtrs of flexible flue liner - but he has used 2 mtrs of flue, what did he do with that other mtr ???

htg
htg engineer
Posts: 3193
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:22 pm


Postby gasmick » Sun Dec 14, 2008 3:59 pm

well i have never heard of a flue dilution system thats fits a gas fire unless its designed for it and incorperates all the saftey devices with it
if he has done it i hope he has fitted an interlocking air pressure switch to the fan in case of fan failure and also a solinoid gas cutoff valve working on 240 volts and via the A P S (I THINK NOT)
seems like an accident waiting to happen to me i wonder if corgi have been informed of the instalation and registered (I THINK NOT)

MICK
gasmick
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2008 9:09 pm


Postby TheDoctor5 » Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:12 am

If you type the key words of your question into our search box to the left of the site you may find the answer is already posted or is in the DIY projects section of the website. Every post goes through a monitoring process and using the search box may speed up your answer.
TheDoctor5
Site Admin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:17 am


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics