Has any body got an Air Source Heat Pump?
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
robert_bullimore
Apprentice
Apprentice

Has any body got an Air Source Heat Pump?

by robert_bullimore » Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:38 pm

Has anybody got an Air Source Heat Pump installed in their home to provide central heating, and DHW?

If so, does it work? do you get on with it? and would you recommend one to anybody else.... like me?

One other question, are they expensesive to run? I understand that it's all down to how much hot water you use and how well the house is insulated etc? but compared to heating the house with oil is it cheaper?

I'm very interseted in having one to replace an oil fired boiler, but as i have no experience of them i'm not sure if its the right thing to do.

Thanks, Robert and Susy

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager

by sparx » Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:34 pm

Hi don't have ASHP at home (use solar panels) but have installed them to heat swimming pools and commercial buildings.
Rule of thumb for running costs is for every kW of electrical energy used to run unit you get around 3 kW of heat output from HP unit.
So depending on cost /kWH (UNITS) you pay for leckie against cost of oil you must judge.
Problem is not having conversion tables from one to the other readily available, theoretically a 30kW boiler should equate to 10kW electrical input to ASHP. However whilst you can measure electrical energy easily you don't know how much oil you use to produce 30kW from boiler.
BTW ground source type give 4kW out for each 1kW input.
Try one of the web sites devoted to alternative energy, most are quite helpful, eg Energy saving trust,
regards Sparx

pollardspark
Labourer
Labourer

Air source heat pump

by pollardspark » Fri Mar 13, 2009 10:42 am

Hi

I installed a Mitsibushi Ecodan air source heat pump system last August. I have had a miserable winter.