Heatmiser PRT


Postby MontyWB » Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:29 pm

Anyone know how to replace a 25 year old thermostat with a digital one with regard to wiring? I have red, blue and yellow wires to current thermostat and I think I have to connect live to L and A1, neutral to N and yellow to A2 on the PRT. Am I correct?
MontyWB
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:24 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby plumbbob » Tue Nov 25, 2008 10:54 pm

You haven't said what model of new stat you have so it is difficult to be precise. Generally on new thermostats the neutral (usually the blue wire) is unused and must not be connected otherwise there will be a big bang.

See this topic

http://www.diydoctor.org.uk/forums/view ... hp?t=14932
plumbbob
Posts: 1850
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 9:59 pm


Postby MontyWB » Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:00 am

Hi Bob

It's a Heatmiser DT / PRT.

I think I have to connect live to L and A1, neutral to N and yellow to A2 on the PRT.

That's how it looks to me from the wiring diagram.
MontyWB
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:24 pm


Postby plumbbob » Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:29 pm

Yes, looking at it now, you are right. PRT's need the neutral. I thought it was just a standard thermostat and the new digital ones don't use the neutral.
plumbbob
Posts: 1850
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 9:59 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics