HEIGHT OF CONSUMER UNIT IN TIMBER FRAME FLATS
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
pklelectrical
Labourer
Labourer

by pklelectrical » Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:28 pm

HI ALL I AM A ELECTRICIAN AND DOING WORK ON SOME TIMBER FRAME FLATS,THE CLIENT GAVE ME A VERY POOR DESIGN TO WORK TO BASICALLY I HAVE TO DESIGN AS I GO ALONG BUT THE CLIENT WANTED THE CONSUMER UNIT UNDERSTAIRS BUT CANT GO THERE AS PER 17TH AND THE PLUMBER GOT HIS TANK IN THERE IF I PUT THE UNIT AT 12OOM OFF FLOOR IN HALLWAY PEOPLE WILL JUST KEEP KNOCKING INTO IT AND WILL GET DAMAGED THE CLIENT DONT WANT IT IN THE LOUNGE OR BEDROOM AND THERE IS NO CUPBOARD ONLY PLACE IT CAN GO IS HIGHER UP ABOVE THE DOOR WAY CAN I DO THIS.PLUS THE DRAWINGS I HAVE IS DATED THE FEB 08 BEFORE 17TH COME IN BUT I ESTIMATED IT AROUND JUNE TIME SO COULD I STILL GO UNDER 16TH EDITION,PLUS I DONT THINK YOU WOULD GET A DISABLED PERSON IN A 1ST FLOOR FLAT SO WHAT DO YOU ALL THINK BEST TO DO MANY THANKS

ericmark

by ericmark » Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:00 am

I don't recall anything in 17th which has precluded the fitting of a consumer unit under the stairs. I know for public building under stairs should contain nothing which may start or add to fire maybe you can direct me to the regulation?
As to Part M and heights I seem to remember it refers to items likely to be used by visitors and the consumer unit is not likely to be accessed by visitors if it was under stairs would not normally be wheel chair accessible.
132.12 and 529.3 refer to access and the note on 529.3 seems to say the me if you mount the consumer unit high it would need permanent steps etc.
The only reference to stairs I can find in BS7671:2008 is 422.6 which is all about public building of special types not houses.
522.3.1 is only regulation I can find referring to water in same area which is just common sense really.