Help! Only some radiators work?
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
dckt
Labourer
Labourer

Help! Only some radiators work?

Post by dckt » Thu Jul 26, 2007 9:38 pm

Hi all,

I'm a newbie on this forum so apologies if this has been asked before. My wife and I are looking to buy a house and we tested the central heating. I'm pretty sure it's a Convential Boiler.

We let it run for about 30 mins and noticed that it quickly heated the kitchen, ground floor bedroom, ground floor toilet but not the 1st storey room, toilet or reception, or the 2nd storey room or toilet. So only about 4 were working out of the 10+.

Would there be any reason for this? the others were very quick to heat up, in a matter of 5-10 mins. My concern is that there's something majorly wrong and we'll have to fix it.

Would we have to bleed them to test it? (Just read about bleeding) Could it be anything else?

THanks in advance for any advice!

Davin

DONFRAMAC
Ganger
Ganger

Post by DONFRAMAC » Fri Jul 27, 2007 2:10 am

Yes, it is very likely that bleeding is all that is needed. When a C.H. system is left unused for a while, rusting in radiators continues, liberating hydrogen gas, enough to cause airlocks. Bleed screws (grubs) are fitted at the top of all radiators, and release gas using a small brass or zinc key, but switch off the pump while bleeding, and repeat a few days later.
If the bottom of radiators are cold (you can check this now, before spending effort on bleeding), there is sludge build-up, which a plumbing firm would tackle best using powerflush pump & chemicals, which need to be rinsed out before they refill and prime the whole system for you, with anti-corrosion fluid. For £600 it saves you a lot of scuttering about, with DIY methods.

dckt
Labourer
Labourer

Post by dckt » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:42 pm

Thanks for the reply donframac!