Help wanted for a teaching course in Iraq
General decorating topics, questions and answers. find help, tips and advice on completing your decorating projects

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
MORAG
Labourer
Labourer

Help wanted for a teaching course in Iraq

by MORAG » Thu Aug 13, 2009 10:47 am

Hello to you all, I will try and keep this as short as possible. Since retiring I spend around 6 months of the year as a volunteer working with a children’s charity in Iraq, in the Kurdish North. Although not a qualified painter and decorator, I have been doing my own painting for nearly 50 years.
Last year whilst in Iraq I painted seven rooms in the Paediatric Hospital, this year I did the same with an old building which has just opened as a centre for Autism. Many times over the past 18 months I have visited this forum to get advice and it has benefited me enormously.

I am returning at the end of September and I have been asked if I could train some of the youths from the centres, these youths are from very poor families and have no chance of getting decent employment unless they have qualifications so I have agreed.

The problem is I really do not know how to put a teaching plan together; it is not something I ever imagined I would be doing. Up to 2003 they only had white or cream paints now they are importing colours from Germany and Turkey but very limited, I did find a shop early this year that now sells undercoat, last year I had to use watered down paint, I also managed to find some primer after searching various shops for two days, even the shopkeepers don’t really know what they are selling and one was surprised when I asked was the paint for interior use, they didn’t know there was a difference between interior and exterior. I also saw masking tape which no one seems to know what it is for. I brought some over with me last year.