Help with 2 way switching


Postby clive.tb@btinternet.com » Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:07 pm

I have two way switching for my lounge and dining room without enough wires in the switches!

One switch for each has the correct 3-wires, the other has only 4 wires, not 5.

Any ideas how this has been wired anyone? I cannot easily lift the upstairs floorboards to trace the cables.

The wiring at the ceiling rose in both rooms is as would be expected.

This is an old house that had already been rewired when we moved in. :?
clive.tb@btinternet.com
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:59 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Sat Feb 16, 2008 8:11 pm

Hi Clive, If you have lights switched from 3 positions then only 2 are 2 way switches using 3 terms the other one [often the middle one] has 4 terms. it's an 'intermediate'switch',
theres probably a circuit drawing under Doc's projects heading.
The 4 term sw ignores the 'Common' core and is inserted in the 2 'strappers' in one position it carries them straight thro' & in the other pos. it crosses them over

I I or X

hope this helps
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby 333rocky333 » Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:51 pm

Not sure what you have

One room with two 2 way 1gang switch ( single ) working one light
second room with two 2 way 1 gang switch ( single ) working one light

Or as above but with ,both lights two way, but using two 2 way 2 gang switches ( double )

If so what wires are in what switch, including amount and colour

You also do not say what you are trying to do, is it not working.
If it is working then why do you say there is not enough wires
333rocky333
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:03 pm


Postby 333rocky333 » Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:08 pm

Each room could have

******************
switch 1
Two strappers L1,L2 one wire on each

On COMMON terminal, one wire, this is the switch feed to the lamp/light

******************
switch 2
Two strappers L1,L2 one wire on each , these are the other ends of the same ones at other switch L1,L2

On the COMMON you NOW have TWO wires , one is LIVE in and one is LIVE out to the next room switch.
*******************
The next room will repeat this, until the last room, where there will be just one LIVE in the COMMON terminal. and no Live out
333rocky333
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:03 pm


Postby 333rocky333 » Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:12 pm

That is the method to wire two way, using single core cables usually within conduit.
333rocky333
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:03 pm


Postby ericmark » Mon Feb 18, 2008 12:24 am

Although not normal using two core as strappers can be done by using the live from a single way switch in the same bank.
ericmark


Postby clive.tb@btinternet.com » Mon Mar 10, 2008 9:21 am

Thanks to everyone for your help. Situation now understood.

I wanted to extend the lighting circuit to a new installation.

I have had it run direct from the board now. :D
clive.tb@btinternet.com
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:59 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics