Internal door confusion...???
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
mric2000
Labourer
Labourer

Internal door confusion...???

by mric2000 » Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:21 pm

I need to fit 2 internal doors in my new house and should point out that I am new to the whole DIY idea! :?

Frames are in place, but were previously used with sliding doors and don't seem to tie-up with standard internal doors, which tend to be typically 30"wide. With the existing frames, the gap is typically 29" wide (although one frame varies between 28" and 29"!?!).

I am hoping to buy the doors (standard white 6-panel doors) from B&Q and fit them myself.
Can anyone advise how much I can plane the door widths? Am I able to take 1/2" off each side??
My guess is that I can't do this as the door would be relatively hollow.

If that is the case, is my only other option to redo the frames? This looks as if it would require me to cut back the plasterboard and re-fit the 'door frame liners' (i.e. the wood within the plasterboard) to accomodate a wider frame structure.

Given that a local chippie quoted me £578 (!!??!?!) for this job, I am keen to get this done myself, so any help on this is much appreciated!!

Best regards, Martin R (Cheltenham)

DUDE DIY
Ganger
Ganger

by DUDE DIY » Thu Nov 15, 2007 10:15 am

Hey martin, just wanted to offer some words of advice. Hope this helps.

-b&q isnt the only place to buy doors from, try your local timber yard. You will probably get a better quality door, even a solid door for around the same price. If it needs triming they may even cut it to an approximate size for you.

-how much wood you can plain off each side depends on the door, as they all differ depending on manufacture. Some are more solid than others. If your going for the B&Q option, you may find you dont have a lot to play with.