Is draining and refilling central heating and combi boiler bad for the system
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Zacccc
Ganger
Ganger

Is draining and refilling central heating and combi boiler bad for the system

by Zacccc » Sun Nov 02, 2014 1:47 am

I've got two or three jobs to do on my Combi Boiler CH system:-

1. take out some redundant copper pipework
2. fit 2 new radiators
3. fit TRVs

I'm a bit of a novice so I'd like to do these a bit at a time and this will involve draining and refilling the system three or more times. My question is: Is this bad for the system, to drain and refill it so many times?

When I had the old CH system, before I got the combi boiler, I seem to remember that it was supposed to be bad for your system to keep draining & refilling it.

proptech
Foreman
Foreman

Re: Is draining and refilling central heating and combi boiler bad for the system

by proptech » Sun Nov 02, 2014 6:51 pm

Hi Zacccc

Every time you introduce fresh water to the system you increase any build up of limescale. You also increase corrosion in the radiators due to oxygen in the water. Also, what about the inhibitor you'll be draining away, a bit expensive to replace every time.
So try to do the work in one go. I would think you'd probably need two days for those jobs. Just make sure you have everything ready before you start.

Zacccc
Ganger
Ganger

Re: Is draining and refilling central heating and combi boiler bad for the system

by Zacccc » Mon Nov 03, 2014 12:50 am

Hi proptech