Joining a cable


Postby bobanreg » Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:40 pm

Hi Guys,
I have damaged the 6mm cable to our shower which runs accross the loft.
Whilst it has not blown the fuse, which i have now taken out it does not look safe.
Is it o.k to just cut and rejoin the cable using a 30amp junction box?
Many thanks
bobanreg
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:32 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby BLAKEY1963 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:11 pm

bobanreg
personally i would try to replace the damaged cable
from where it oringates to the switch ( pullcord )
if this the case.

BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
31.2%
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm

Postby ericmark » Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:56 pm

If it is accessible then yes. If not accessible then will need to be crimped. With the latter normal to used shrink sleeve over whole job. But I would never send someone to do a job like that without first seeing it and it may be not the best option.
ericmark

Postby bobanreg » Wed Feb 06, 2008 6:24 pm

Thanks a lot for your interest.
Tha cable is accessable,I have fitted a 45A DP switch where the cable was damaged and all seems well.
Do you have any doubts on doing this.
Cheers.
bobanreg
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:32 pm

Postby 333rocky333 » Thu Feb 07, 2008 7:17 pm

Depends where the switch is located .
333rocky333
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
88%
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:03 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics