Lighting off of a 13Amp Spur


Postby ScottZanzibar » Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:38 am

Hi,

I'm converting my attic. The upstairs lighting circuit is alreday nearing 95m in length so I cannot extend it.

I do have a 13Amp ringmain in the attic. Is an alternative creating a 5Amp fused spur off of which to run the lights?

Thanks,

Scott
ScottZanzibar
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:33 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby kuzz » Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:29 pm

How do you know you can't add to the existing circuit have you done the calcs?
a fused spur from the ringmain fused down to 5A is fine.
kuzz
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
56%
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:37 pm

Postby ericmark » Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:12 pm

In theory yes but you should ensure should you overload a power circuit in the loft it will not leave you in darkness i.e. not the same power circuit feeding the loft lights as feeds loft sockets or some emergency lighting units. it would not be option I would want to use.
ericmark

Postby ScottZanzibar » Thu Apr 24, 2008 12:02 am

Err...

Coz I've already used over 115m of cable getting to the 2nd floor :(

*Damns thee old Victorian terraces...and the introduction of "HIPS"*

*sobs*
ScottZanzibar
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:33 am

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics