Lost pressure from hot water :(
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
StrangerUK
Apprentice
Apprentice

Lost pressure from hot water :(

by StrangerUK » Sat Apr 05, 2008 2:54 pm

Hoping someone can advise on a plumbing problem. I have no plumbing knowledge so apologies for describing this in laymans terms. Just had a trusted and experienced plumber fit me a new bathroom suite with mixer taps. Once installed, hot water pressure is very poor – a slow stream of water from the basin and bath mixer – too slow to fill a bath. Prior to the change, pressure wasn’t exactly great – didn’t have much force behind it, but is certainly worse now. We’ve always had decent cold water pressure, but oddly the cold now seems to have more pressure. The wife think its directly related, like some of the hot pressure has somehow ‘transferred’ over to the cold, but I can’t see how that can be as I think the cold/hot are on two different ‘systems’.
We’re in a flat, with the hot water cylinder tank (immersion heater) in the airing cupboard just a couple of metres away from the tap outlets. We have no loft, so no cold water tank. Followed the incoming water feed past the stopcock and think the cold water is directly from that feed.
My only thoughts to resolve the problem is to buy and have fitted a pump, perhaps located next to the hot cylinder tank to boost the pressure to the basin and bath.
Is there a problem somewhere that is causing the poor hot pressure? Would a pump solve it?
With thanks,
Mark

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager

by htg engineer » Sat Apr 05, 2008 6:39 pm

The difference in the cold water pressure will not affect the hot water pressure - the cold water flow rate may have increased if he has opened the mains stop tap slightly more than it was previously - nothing to wory about.

The hot water pressure could be a couple of things,