Lots of questions from a new guy regarding carpentry
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

Bagong Carpintero
Labourer
Labourer

Lots of questions from a new guy regarding carpentry

by Bagong Carpintero » Sat Jan 03, 2015 9:58 pm

Hello!

I am just starting to get serious with woodworking as a supplement to my hobby. I play on the computer a lot and most of my time is spent with combat flight simulators. Because of this, a typical office desk and chair leaves a lot to be desired. 4+ years ago, I bought a second-hand bucket seat and started making my own cockpits. I have no previous carpentry experience or training and I've basically just followed instructions from websites or YouTube.

2 years ago, I decided to upgrade my cockpit and install a triple-monitor setup. This meant I had to modify my monitor table and make it wider to accept three screens. It has served me well until a few months ago. Because of the way I get into and out of my cockpit, the seat cushion has given out. Luckily, I was able to source a different seat and I have now started work on my third cockpit design.

Up until a few days ago, all I had tools-wise were a cheap jigsaw, a cheap circular saw, and a cheap power drill (handheld). I say cheap because they are £30 or less from B&Q. I found a Black&Decker drill on sale and decided to buy it to save me from having to swap from drill bit to screwdriver head everytime I need to modify my cockpit. The difference between the B&D drill and the cheap one was obvious straight away. This showed me that not all tools are created equal.