MK Fused Spur


Postby AndyH2 » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:38 pm

I am attempting to relace the 13Amp fuse supplied with the new MK fused spur with a 3Amp. After doing so, I no longer have continuity between the Live pin on the supply side with the Live pin on the load side. The fuse is good. Refitting the original has the same problem. Thinking I had an unfortunate failure, I got another brand new unit. I checked continuity before attempting the same activity and it was good. After changing the fuse I have the same problem. Is there some secret to replacing a fuse?
AndyH2
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:30 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby stoneyboy » Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:29 pm

AndyH2,
Are you screwing in the fuse holder completely - it needs to be flush with the front of the plate. If this is OK you have another faulty unit.
end
stoneyboy
Posts: 2708
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm


Postby AndyH2 » Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:31 am

In total I have 3 switched fused spur units which have the same problem. To expand on my first posting...
Replacement of the fuse procedure may be an issue.
Unscrewing the fuseholder retaining screw starts to the action of extracting the fuseholder. After the fuseholder has come out about 3mm the screw action no longer does anything and I am forced to use a screwdriver to lever the fuseholder the rest of the way.
After replacing the fuse the retaining screw does not re-engage in the thread of the fuseholder unless I apply significant pressure to the fuseholder.
These are all brand new units.
AndyH2
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:30 pm


Postby sparx » Tue Aug 17, 2010 10:46 pm

That's normal for MK stuff, push hard and screw in fully...
That sounds really bad!!
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics