Moved in to new House but Upstairs Rads not Getting hot


Postby thompa25 » Sun May 07, 2017 6:21 pm

I've just moved house, and the bloke did mention when I was looking round that the upstairs rads sometimes dont get warm, but you just have to shut in the small rad in the hall and they heat up. It didnt really phase me, because I really liked the house. Now i've moved in, the rads upstairs didnt get warm at all, so I balanced the system, got 1 rad out of 3 working. I really gagged in quite a few of the rads downstairs and managed to get 2 out of the 3 upstairs radiators heating up. I have almost no experience with system boiler setups, but getting my head around the system it looks like its a case of the boiler (obviously), which feeds a pump, then into a 3 way mid position valve (or whatever it is called). The CH side then just goes through the floor and off to the rads, the HW side goes into a tank with an expansion header. Obviously this could be caused by a number of issues, but ive bled and balanced the system, and the only way I can get the upstairs rads to heat up is by gagging in quite a few radiators. Can I just uprate this pump, does this sound like it would solve the issue. Personally I think there are far too many rads in the house.

Appologies for the story,
thompa25
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:51 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby collectors » Mon May 08, 2017 10:42 am

Hi, all re rads that are getting hot turn down the valve that looks like there is a plane cap on it to at least 1/2 open.
Check the boiler if its a sealed system that the pressure gauge shows at least 1 bar. If not a touch more "1.3 bar"
A lot of pumps have a switch on the with either 2 or 3 speed settings. "Turn it up 1 if so"
You say a new house? Brand new. If so get contractor back.
collectors
Rank: Foreman
Progress to next rank:
32%
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:26 am

Postby thompa25 » Tue May 09, 2017 7:46 am

collectors wrote:Hi, all re rads that are getting hot turn down the valve that looks like there is a plane cap on it to at least 1/2 open.
Check the boiler if its a sealed system that the pressure gauge shows at least 1 bar. If not a touch more "1.3 bar"
A lot of pumps have a switch on the with either 2 or 3 speed settings. "Turn it up 1 if so"
You say a new house? Brand new. If so get contractor back.


Hi, thanks for the reply. I have tried all that prior to this post, gagging in the other rads on the lockshields, made a little bit of a difference. Ive shut in a few rads downstairs and got the upstairs rads working, but really I would like all the rads to be working. The pump is already on setting 3. What I was wondering was, am I able to replace the pump with a higher rated one, i dont know if this will cause any issues as the pump is prior to the 3 way valve, so will up the flow rate through the cyclinder aswell, will this cause me an issue, or should I put in another pump on just the CH side ?

cheers
thompa25
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
75%
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 7:51 am

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics