Mysterious Damp
Damp can be a major issue in the home. Find answers to questions or post your own here.

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
cyqi
Labourer
Labourer

Mysterious Damp

by cyqi » Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:02 pm

I've been staying in my 1950s/1960s bungalow for more than 2 years. Damp starting to show around June this year (around the driest weather in history). It started around the one side wall of the house and one of the central supporting wall. Then wet patches on the wall start to appear, propagating from front of the house gradually to the back of the house. We had water company check the water main both in my house and my neighbours, but come up with no problem. They even check the fire Hydrant. I've also hired an independent surveyor to check, but he can not come with any conclusion. ok, here are the summary:
- Damp start june this year during dry period and getting progressively worse.
- The two bed room floor are very wet, my paquet floor are all wrapped and swelled up. Concrete floor
- Damp around skirting on one side of the walls.
- No leak from water main.
- Only interior wall is damp (cavity wall). The outer leaf is quite dry.
- Gutter is bit old, but in ok condition, should not lead to damp around the skirting.
- Roof ok, valley have been repointed to rule out leaking roof.
- Survey remove skirting and hacked some plaster off at the damp wall in the middle of the house, internal bricks is dry but plaster is wet.
- I'm not suspecting leak from the bathroom since all walls around the bathroom are not damp. (my surveyor is a bit sceptics about it). No pipe below bathroom floor, solid concrete
- All water pipe in the house including central heating either going along the roof or on the walls since we have concrete floor.
- No pressure drop in combi boiler. central heating piping are all exposed. No leak observed.
- No water and drainage pipe near the damp wall side, no pipeworks under floor.