NEED HELP. Cables through a wall.


Postby hackett09 » Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:25 pm

Hey, need help on how to put my tv on the wall. I am planning to hang my 50" on a wall using a brackett from Argos. It says it will take the weight, but the screws/bolts dont look overly sturdy should I upgrade them? Also hanging the tv on a wall with a cupboard behind which is one skin of brickwork thick, can I drill all the way through and run the cables into the cuboard and keep the sky box etc stored away? If so do i need small seperate holes for each cable or can i drill a hole big enough to fit more than one cable in?? Is this possible without damaging the plaster as I have only just painted the wall!!

Thanks!!
hackett09
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:18 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby plumbbob » Fri Nov 07, 2008 9:05 pm

In my experience, it is very likely you will have to upgrade the fixing screws as they are often totally useless for the purpose.

You can use one hole for all the wires (providing the plugs fit through too) except it is a good idea to keep power cables separate from signal cables to avoid interference.

Just one thought though, if you hide the Sky box away, how is the remote control going to work?
plumbbob
Posts: 1850
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 9:59 pm


Postby TheDoctor5 » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:48 am

Last year 64% of the questions asked in our forum were answered within our DIY project pages at www.diydoctor.org.uk/projects.htm The project pages are now separated alphabetically and your answers are accompanied by diagrams and the ability to see, and buy, the tools and/or required to complete your project. Use our search box to look for your answer and save a great deal of time and money!
TheDoctor5
Site Admin
Posts: 1385
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:17 am


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics