Need to Pull 2 Fuses to Break Circuit

Postby MuddyFunkster » Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:43 pm


I have just move into a bungalow that was built 50 years ago and extended in the early 70s.

Last night I discovered that in order to isolate the power from the sockets you need to pull two 15Amp fuses.

If you pull just one the sockets stay live, it does not matter which one you pull.

Therefore the two fuses are in parallel, this seams wrong - is it?
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:38 pm


Simply Build It

Postby kbrownie » Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:14 pm

It is wrong you have Ring final circuit and someone has decided to run each leg of a different fuse/breaker!
This a not safe or good method :shock:
It needs to be in one fuse/breaker only
What size cable is it and what area does the circuit cover in square meters?
Then we can advise correct fuse size.
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1759
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm

Postby kuzz » Tue Apr 07, 2009 5:56 pm

very wrong and very dangerous. It could be very simple to fix, or it could be more complex, either way you'll need an electrician with a set of test equipment.
Rank: Ganger
Progress to next rank:
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:37 pm

Postby rosebery » Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:50 pm

It sounds to me as though a PIR would be money very well spent on your electrical installation.

Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2022
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by

  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!


  • Related Topics