New cooker plug advice


Postby suepea » Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:32 pm

Hi
Can anyone help me, we are having a dual fuel cooker delivered and it says it can be plugged into a 13amp socket, well we haven't got a plug in socket, the old cooker (all electric) was wired up and we have just a fat cable comming out of the wall with a switch above the extractor fan, can the new cooker be wired into this insted, or do we need to have it converted to a plug in socket, sorry im not very technical about it
Thanks Suepea
suepea
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 6:21 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby kbrownie » Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:08 am

You can but I'd bring the breaker size down that is protecting the circuit to 20A.
KB
Last edited by kbrownie on Wed Sep 30, 2009 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
kbrownie
Posts: 1756
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm


Postby kbrownie » Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:10 am

If the cooker is supplied with moulded plug top, if you cut it off it may effect your warranty agreement.
KB
kbrownie
Posts: 1756
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics