Painting over hessian - How to prime?
General decorating topics, questions and answers. find help, tips and advice on completing your decorating projects

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
millieminder
Apprentice
Apprentice

Painting over hessian - How to prime?

by millieminder » Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:02 am

Hi, I'm a newbie here, and would appreciate some help.

We've a room covered in hessian which is dark and faded and horrible but well hung and well stuck to the walls. We thought we'd paint it over, but we don't know what to use and if we should use some sealant or primer first.

Any suggestions? Thanks

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager

by stoneyboy » Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:54 am

millieminder,
I assume you have tried wetting the hessian to see if it can then be removed easily, if you have, I suggest you apply two coats of oil based undercoat using a roller - make sure you have doors and windows open. This will seal in any waterborn stains and you can then paint with emulsion in a colour of you choice. Try a small area first to check that the hessian does not lift.
end

millieminder
Apprentice
Apprentice

by millieminder » Wed Dec 31, 2008 2:33 pm

Thanks for that advice, Stoneyboy, but it does seem like a lot of fumes! We haven't tried stripping the hessian - we don't mind the hessian as such, just the awful faded dark green colour. Someone has suggested painting on 'glue size' - whatever that is. My dad thinks it's what artists use to prepared canvases for painting, so it may be a technically correct solution (pun!), but it might not be practicable on the scale of a 12x25 ft room!

Any other thoughts?

Thanks

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager

by stoneyboy » Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:10 pm

millieminder,