part p certification
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
ian2799
Apprentice
Apprentice

part p certification

by ian2799 » Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:15 pm

hi wonder if anyone can help me i am a fully qualified approved electrician working in the industrial sector i have a 2391 certificate and would like to earn an additional income outside my permanent job could anybody tell me what the easiest and cheapest way to issue a valid part p certificate if i was to carry out any domestic works cheers

ericmark

by ericmark » Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:38 am

It all depends on how many jobs per year and local council charges. The charge varies county to county. Big jobs like complete re-wires often better to pay county by the job. Small jobs then really need to be registered. With disabled having toll free status in many counties and a lot of work not needing Part P. Not sure how one would work out point at which you would be better off being a member of one of the clearing houses. But I think you have to have had so many jobs passed first?

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager

by sparx » Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:08 pm

Hi Ian,
I was in similar position at start of 'Part-p' 3 years ago in that 95% of my work was non-domestic .
I had not intended to register as could see no point, however dispite what you may read in press & on forums a lot of 'other trades' [plumbers, kitchen fitters] have stopped doing their own electrics for fear of prosecution and don't/can't have means of testing and issuing own certs.
So as a result demand for leckies to do such work has grown rapidly.
The point Eric makes is very valid, if you are planning to do a few largish jobs on the side then add £160/200 to the price and pay LABC fee to have them come and inspect each job, you can/must issue IEE test certs. for the work done but thats it.
Alternatively the other route is to join one of the self-certifying bodies