Power shower problem
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
juliangungho
Labourer
Labourer

Power shower problem

Post by juliangungho » Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:57 pm

Hi All, I am new to to this site so please forgive the long winded email. as I need some advise on a plumbing issue that I have.

Ok over xmas my old emersion tank failed, it was a old copper tank and it has decided to split on me. The central heating sysetm is a indirect system with gravity water coming down from the loft. Okay I drained down the entire water system inc central heating and refitted a new immersion tank . All the pipes to and thro are 22mm copper and everything went well. I fitted a couple of gate valves for emegencies just in case I have another issue in the future for good measure.
Physically the tanks were identical however the only difference was the top connection to the central heating was 2 inches higher which I had to plumb as neccesary. Also I fitted a new tank stat due to the old one having a different clamp assembly and was not ideal for the new ready lagged tank which required a different version of attachment.

The hot water leaves the tank via a 22mm pipe and attaches it self to another 22mm pipe which feeds the rest of the house and obviously the vent pipe which leads into the attic space which is positioned about a foot off the cold water tank.

Okay up to the point before the old tank splitting I had a supajet 100 power shower and was running perfectly up to this time. Since the new instalation of the tank when ever I turn the shower on, it screams itself to death (no water i guess)so I have to pull the power cord to isolate the shower and then turn the shower to hot and let it flow for a few seconds. I then turn the mixer to off and then turn the power back on. Once this is done the shower works fine. this dosnt happen all the time thou, I guess its only happens when the water cools down in the pipes.