PROBLEM Re-filling CH sytem with water - HELP!
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
mungo69
Apprentice
Apprentice

PROBLEM Re-filling CH sytem with water - HELP!

by mungo69 » Sun Jul 19, 2009 5:58 pm

Hello,

I've just drained my central heating (CH) of water by opening a drain point at the bottom of the house and then opening all the radiators' bleed valves.

everything has been sealed up again, but the water level of my header tank has not changed and no water is coming into the system.

As you can see I'm pretty new to this so any help would be very welcome.

cheers

Mungo.

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager

by rosebery » Sun Jul 19, 2009 8:52 pm

You've gone and got yourself an airlock.

By draining eveything originally you have filled all the rads with air. You have to let that out again as the water is fed back in. From your description it seems as though you have just shut all the bleed valves and tunred the water back on. It won't fill that way.

Starting at the very bottom rad on the system open the bleed valve again. You should hear air coming out as the water decends from the header tank. If you do thats good. Wait until all the air is out of that rad - water will come out of the blleed valve then close the bleed valve.

Repeat with the next rad and the next until all are full. Then you should have a full system.

There should also be an air vent on the primary circuit of your cylinder (in some cases this will be an auto airvent). If its a manual one open it and make sure there is no air in that part of the system.

Run the boiler up, let the system get warm then go round and bleed each rad in turn again. You may have to do this more than once.

If that doesn't work come back here again and we'll move on to the next stage. Actually if it does work also come back here and tell us.

Cheers