Problem with halogen spots...stopped working.....any ideas?


Postby CASS » Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:37 pm

I have 8 halogen spots, they are 12V 50W, over the last few days they have occassionly flickered, now they have just gone off, no noise or anything, on one moment all gone off the next.

i've tried replacing one bulb to check they hadn't all gone but that didn't work. im guessing it may be the transformer.... any ideas?

also the bulbs have two prongs that push into the electical receiver, so im guessing that it would be a remote transformer??

any ideas?

thanks
CASS
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:29 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Mon Sep 10, 2007 9:26 pm

Hi Cass, 8X50= A huge 400Watt load! must be very big transformer!!!
RU sure these should be 50W lamps? I would have thought with 8 lights 20W lamps would have been original fitment= 160W total, much more reasonable total output for one area, try removing several lamps at once as some transformers auto-reset when overload removed, if no joy then must trace and replace transformer unit with correct size to mach your lamp total load, ie watts per lamp X no. of lamps = total watts [usually marked as Volt/amps or VA], regards
SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby CASS » Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:27 am

Hi,
Thanks for the advice, i think it will be a new transformer as even with one lamp its not working. 50W was the original fitment, when fitted and has been working fine for a number of years. (the one year we have been there and as far as i know 3 or 4 years when the previous owner installed them.) just have to try and find the transformer, which is annoying as it will mean a hole in the kitchen ceiling or the upstairs floor!


[quote="sparx"]Hi Cass, 8X50= A huge 400Watt load! must be very big transformer!!!
RU sure these should be 50W lamps? I would have thought with 8 lights 20W lamps would have been original fitment= 160W total, much more reasonable total output for one area, try removing several lamps at once as some transformers auto-reset when overload removed, if no joy then must trace and replace transformer unit with correct size to mach your lamp total load, ie watts per lamp X no. of lamps = total watts [usually marked as Volt/amps or VA], regards
SPARX[/quote]
CASS
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:29 pm


Postby sparx » Tue Sep 11, 2007 10:04 pm

Whoa Cass!, one end or other fitting will have trnsfmr tucked up through light hole. take each end fitting (if obvious which) pull fitting down against spring holding it in place, gently pull cables and try to see tranny, it won't be far away, will be small enough to pass thro' light hole,
good fishing, SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby CASS » Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:28 am

Thanks for the reply. on investigation each lamp has it's own transformer, which are rated for 50W each, so all fine there. but was a little puzzling as i didnt think all transformers would go at exactly the same time. I lifted several floorbooards upstairs and found the cable suppling power to the lights had been damaged by a nail (must have been at least 4 or 5 years ago min.) long before we moved in. anyway the cable had finally burnt and melted through and must have shorted out.
CASS
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 4:29 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics