Problem with installing a new light


Postby el_stig » Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:16 pm

I have read through a few people's problems, and also read a couple of guides, but alas, to no avail.

I am replacing a light, i did not remove the old unit, therefore dont know where the wires came from. It is part of the downstairs ring and has 5 wires going into the it, 3 of these have live, neutral and earth, 2 have just live and earth. The light also has 2 switches which operate it.

I have wired up the ring a number of times and all the lights work, but the kitchen light (the one i am changing) is always on! I have found (i think) that one of the black wires is the switch light, i have marked this, but it still doesnt change anything.

can anyone think of a way to wire this up i may not have tried? i can take photos if that would help anyone!

if i havent explained clearly please ask me to clarify!

thanks for any help in advance!
el_stig
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:11 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby BLAKEY1963 » Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:37 am

[quote="el_stig"]I have read through a few people's problems, and also read a couple of guides, but alas, to no avail.

I am replacing a light, i did not remove the old unit, therefore dont know where the wires came from. It is part of the downstairs ring and has 5 wires going into the it, 3 of these have live, neutral and earth, 2 have just live and earth. The light also has 2 switches which operate it.

I have wired up the ring a number of times and all the lights work, but the kitchen light (the one i am changing) is always on! I have found (i think) that one of the black wires is the switch light, i have marked this, but it still doesnt change anything.

can anyone think of a way to wire this up i may not have tried? i can take photos if that would help anyone!

if i havent explained clearly please ask me to clarify!

thanks for any help in advance![/quote]

el-stig

the black with a red tag ( your switch) wire goes ito the light fitting , live
terminal . this should switch your light. Isolate supply safely.
you could also get the advice of your local electrician to verify.

BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
31.6%
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm

Postby sparx » Wed Jul 08, 2009 5:16 pm

Hi,
I would guess what you have is an old fashioned way of 2 way switching, using single core plus earths .
to confirm look at connections to Com. terms at switches, if the above cables go there then I am right.
Please look at switches & tell us what cables and colours are there,
as Blakey says this may need 'hands on' help as combinations are many,
sorry,
Sparx
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Postby el_stig » Wed Jul 08, 2009 10:00 pm

Inthe two plugs are single core plus earths, so i immediatly assumed that connecting these to the fitting would give the switching i needed, but using a continuity tester i found a switch live (but since connecting this i have found that i have connected the switch from the lounge!)

i think sparx u are right! this maybe too much for me to explain over the internet and being a total novice, i may have to accept defeat!

thanks for your help!
el_stig
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 12:11 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics